The Old Warson Cup is the Association’s annual match play championship, where the top 16 players from the previous year’s Player of the Year Point Standings are invited to Old Warson Country Club to participate for the coveted Old Warson Cup.

What began in early 1996 as the Taylor Cup and played at Boone Valley Golf Club, moved to Old Warson in 2003. For many years it was simply known as the Metropolitan Match Play Championship. In 2012, Old Warson CC agreed to become the permanent home of the match play championship and it was renamed the Old Warson Cup. The membership at Old Warson donated the actual sterling silver cup and it remains in the trophy room at the Club at all times.

Skip Berkmeyer has captured the title a record five (5) times, twice as the Taylor Cup, and seven (7) has been the Runner-up.

Past Champions

EventYearChampionHome ClubRunner-UpHome ClubSiteScore
Taylor Cup1996Don BlissCC of St. AlbansDerre OwsleyN/ABoone Valley GC1up
1997Jim HoltgrieveWestborough CCScott ThomasNorwood Hills CC3&2
1998Jim HoltgrieveWestborough CCDon BlissCC of St. Albans1up
1999Tim RileySt. Clair CCRoger NullBoone Valley GC1up
2000Don BlissCC of St. AlbansBrian KennedyNorwood Hills CC19 Holes
2001Skip BerkmeyerNorwood Hills CCDon BlissCC of St. Albans2&1
2002Skip BerkmeyerNorwood Hills CCDavid EstesNorwood Hills CC21 Holes
The Old Warson Cup2003David EstesNorwood Hills CCAndy FrostBellerive CCOld Warson CC3&2
2004Don BlissNorwood Hills CCSkip Berkmeyer Norwood Hills CC2&1
2005Shawn JasperBoone Valley GCDon BlissNorwood Hills CC1up
2006John KellyNorwood Hills CCChris NagelMeadowbrook CC1up
2007Skip Berkmeyer Norwood Hills CCJustin BardgettMeadowbrook CC21 Holes
2008Skip BerkmeyerNorwood Hills CCBrian KennedyPersimmon Woods GC4&2
2009Skip Berkmeyer Norwood Hills CCTom BarryNormandie GC5&4
2010Scott LangleyPevely Farms GCSkip BerkmeyerGateway National GL1up
2011Justin BryantBellerive CCSkip BerkmeyerGateway National GL3&2
2012Justin BryantBellerive CCSkip BerkmeyerAberdeen GC5&3
2013Garrett SneedCC of St. AlbansThomas WuennenbergTapawingo National GC5&4
2014Phil CaraviaNorwood Hills CCAlex CusumanoMetropolitan GC19 Holes
2015Cy MoritzSullivan CCSkip BerkmeyerThe Legends CC2&1
2016Sam MigdalAberdeen GCSkip BerkmeyerThe Legends CC1up
2017Sam MigdalNorwood Hills CCSkip BerkmeyerThe Legends CC4&2
2018Drew PrangerGlen Echo CCAlex CiaramitaroMissouri Bluffs GC5&3
2019Crimson CallahanMetropolitan eClubDrew PrangerGlen Echo CC19 holes
2021Sam MigdalNorwood Hills CCJason LandryGreenbriar Hills CC1up

© Copyright 2023. Metropolitan Amateur Golf Association. All Rights Reserved.
Website & Hosting by BlueTone Media