2018 Old Warson Cup Field Set to Kickoff Season

The “official” kickoff to the MAGA Tournament Season takes place May 5-6 with The Old Warson Cup. Old Warson is the permanent home to the Association’s match play championship and the name was changed to “The Old Warson Cup” in 2013.

Sixteen of the St. Louis areas top amateurs will compete for the Old Warson Cup. These 16 players were invited based on their finish on the 2017 MAGA Player of the Year Point Standings.  Two-time defending Champion Sam Migdal (Norwood Hills CC), will be the #1 Seed after another stellar 2017 season earning his second consecutive MAGA Player of the Year.  Migdal will get Jeff Johnson (Bogey Hills CC) in Saturday’s first round.  Migdal looks to join Skip Berkmeyer as the only golfer to capture this title 3 consecutive years, Berkmeyer did so from 2007-2009

In the #2 Seed position will be Ryan Eckelkamp (Franklin County CC), Eckelkamp had great 2017 with victories in the East Side Amateur and MGA Mid-Amateur Championship to earn a Runner-Up finish to Migdal and spot in the 2018 Old Warson Cup.  Eckelkamp will face Frankie Thomas (Meadowbrook CC). 

Five-time Champion in this event, Skip Berkmeyer (The Legends CC) comes in as the #3 seed this year.  Along with his 5 titles, Berkmeyer has been Runner-Up seven (7) times.  Twelve of the 22 years of the Match Play he has reached the final match!  He will face Tony Gumper (Normandie GC) in the Round of 16.

Rounding out the top 4 seeds is Brad Carpenter (Franklin County CC).  Carpenter is coming off his junior season at Missouri State University where he plays on the golf team.  He was Low Amateur of the 2017 Metropolitan Open at St. Albans.  Carpenter will get Jimmy Siegfried (Metropolitan GC) in the Round of 16 Saturday.

Here is the full slate of Round of 16 Matches for Saturday morning:

7:00am   Sam Migdal (1) vs. Jeff Johnson (16)
7:10am   Bryan Bohme (8) vs. Alex Ciaramitaro (9)
7:20am   Brad Carpenter (4) vs. Jimmy Siegfried (13)
7:30am   Chad Niezing (5) vs. Jeremy Franklin (12)
7:40am   Ryan Eckelkamp (2) vs. Frankie Thomas (15)
7:50am   Andrew Pranger (7) vs. Chris Kovach (10)
8:00am   Skip Berkmeyer (3) vs. Tony Gumper (14)
8:10am   Alex Cusumano (6) vs. Ryan Sullivan (11)

Quarterfinal matches will be played in the afternoon on Saturday.  Sunday morning the Semifinal matches will begin at 7:00am with the 18-hole final match beginning approximately 11:30am.  Spectators are welcome to attend the matches and see the area’s top amateurs contend for the 2018 Old Warson Cup!

For all of the Pairings, Match Play Bracket and Match Results, visit the 2018 Old Warson Cup webpage!

Leave a Reply