Holtgrieve Wraps Up Senior Title a Decade After Winning His First

Shortly after Jim Holtgrieve returned to the amateur ranks he went right back to winning, capturing the 2007 Metropolitan Senior Amateur.  Fast forward 10 years to 2017 and he finds himself back on top winning the 25th Senior Amateur Tuesday on his home turf of Westborough Country Club.  Going into day 2 tied atop the leaderboard with Andy Frost, Holtgrieve would birdie the 17th at Westborough which would ultimately seal the championship over 3 others.  Holtgrieve had rounds of 69-70-139 (+3) total for the win.

Frost had the lead after 9 holes Tuesday, turning at 1-under par for the day and Even for the championship.  However, a couple of miscues early in the back 9 let others back in the game.  Holtgrieve stayed steady throughout the back then pounced on the birdie at 17.  Frost, Tom Barry and David Bremer would each finish at 5-over 141 for Runner-Up finish.

Holtgrieve is pictured at the left accepting the George F. Meyer Trophy from Rick Meyer, Jr.  With this win, Holtgrieve vaults to the top of the 2017 Senior Player of the Year Points Standings presented by Bushnell, up to date standings are available by clicking here.

Along with the George F. Meyer Championship, several other seniors played within age divisions competing for Low Gross and Low Net honors.  The Low Gross and Low Net Winners for each division are pictured below.  For all of the scores from the championships please use the link below.


Age 50-59: Tina Jones (Low Gross); Dale Lindhorst (Low Net)






Age 60-64: Don Walker (Low Net); Jim Walther (Low Gross)





Age 65-69: Clark Amos (Low Gross); Larry Laramie (Low Net)





Age 70-74: Dave Lough (Low Gross); Bill Braun (Low Net)





Age 75 and Over: Stephen Weinstock (Low Net); Don Dupske (Low Gross)

Leave a Reply